Why do writers write? And why do they stop writing?

Above is my very worn out copy of To Kill a Mockingbird, the novel of the century according to a vote by librarians. I love this book to death - the pages are falling out from my reading it and following the children's innocent journey through troubled times. It even inspired my friend Kathy Shell to write her Australian historical crime novel though the eyes of children.

I have always suspected that the reasons Harper Lee gave publicly for her silence after "Mockingbird" were too easy -- as a writer myself, it's hard to believe she was really satisfied or happy not writing (or at least not publishing). I've never really believed Salinger's protestations as to his long silence either. Still, this essay raises the question and provides some interesting insight

In the blog post, Seeking immortality | Katdish.net  katdish.ne states that most books, like their authors, are born to die; of only a few books can it be said that death hath no dominion over them; they live, and their influence

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.