Do you give flowers for Valentines Day?

My husband and I, have through the years, given each other the most unromantic seeming gifts, and I've loved every one, more than I would diamonds and flowers.

Don't get me wrong, I adore flowers, it's simply that I'd prefer to pick flowers from my garden with their beautiful, cottage garden, naturally curved graceful stems, and slight imperfections that make them seem all the more beautiful. I'm not a fan of stiff perfection of grown for sale roses. Now give me a garden shed, and I'm over the moon with ecstasy.

So, that's what my husband and I give each other for Valentines day, things that are practical, unromantic to some people, but just what we need and lasting—as has been our relationship.

If you are into the language of fllowers and see giving flowers as the perfect expression of love, then here s some information about, what flowers say about you.  Arlington mother and author Amy Brecount White speaks the Language of Flowers and will be giving a talk at the US Botanic Garden on Valentine's Day, February 14th, at 1 pm. It's free, and open to the public. You may register by phone: 202.225.1116. United States Botanic Garden, 100 Maryland Ave., SW

If you want to make a Tussie Mussie click here for a You Tube video of Amy Brecount White showing her magic at a signing for her novel for young adults "Forget Her-Nots" HarperCollins Green Willow Books.

I used to make Tussie Mussie's and sell them at a market for pin money. it was fun and a great way to use the contents of my cottage garden and earn pin money.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.