I am a member of a critique group called "Critique Circle." there are some excellent members there, fellow authors who critique your work for credits you earn by critiquing other writer's work. Or you can go to free websites, such as Constructive Critique, and learn writing tips. Or purchase constructive critiques, proofreading and copy-editing from the professionals. I copy-edit romance writer's works. Kathryn Shell, copy edits fiction and non-fiction work.

Critique Circle has a blog where you can learn from fellow authors.

When you begin at Critique Circle, you go in the newbies queue and you will get a range of critiques from both experienced and inexperienced critiques. Don't take them to heart. 40% may love your work 40% hate it and 20% are just going though the motions of earning points for your themselves and don't contribute a lot. That's human nature, don't expect 100% useful critiques, nor follow 100% of the advice given.

Select what advice you receive from a critique and use that as suits your own writing style, and learn to ignore the rest.  That is what I found the most difficult thing to do, with a critique process, learning not to change my work according to other people's plot and style preferences. Learn to maintain your own style not another.

I actually pay a professional to critique most of my work before submission and they pay me to critique theirs. We could work an exchange situation, however this fee structure system is fair, and allows for variations in our need, and shows respect for each others professional author status.

Where is my work? You can't see it, I've ghost written for a few special people. I'm about to travel 4,000k to work with a new client. His name will be on his book, not mine.

As earn your point critique groups go, Critique Circle is probably one of the best. Having a good writing mentor, is excellent too.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.